Turn Around


It’s been a rough week for the dance music community.  We lost Scott Hardkiss earlier this week and I found out just yesterday morning that a close friend of mine, John Walker (Turnaround to so many) was in an accident and is now in a coma.  As much as I very rarely let the world get me down, the latter definitely got to me.  When you’ve known someone for a long time, that happens.  When you know someone who has done as much good as he has, it hits even harder.

I moved here in 1996, but met John Walker in the summer of 1995.  I couldn’t tell you the name of the party, but I remember seeing that huge ass grin of his and chatting with him about the goings on for nightlife.  This was back when raving was still new and uncharted territory (and sure as hell not anything that a nerd like I was had any idea about).  I had just graduated from high school and had a litany of jazz/classic rock in my head.  To see the whir of lights, crazy dancing, and day glo covered partygoers was a little much for me.  Somehow, we met and I found out that he was from Houston as well.  I ended up making a lifelong friend through love of the culture and the music (who just happened to share hometown roots with me).

Always a positive force in whatever he’s done, John has always been a voice of reason and a positive supporter of creative endeavor for both myself and so many others.

Fast forward through the years of living in Dallas.  I’ve seen him go from being a single guy to being a father to three amazing kids, a husband to a beautiful wife, a local and national star in his own right, a pioneer for locals in branching out with Red Bull, a mentor to far too many DJs to name, et al.  I could literally list the number of things that John Walker is to so many, but we’d be here till Jesus came back.  The most important thing to know is this:  My friend is hurt and I want him back to full health as soon as possible.

This is today’s (and for almost the past 17 years) inspiration:

Since it’s all happened so fast, things have been a whirlwind, BUT if you can find a little change to help support some of the upcoming costs that will come through his care or help his family out during their time of need it would be greatly appreciated.  If you can’t then even a kind thought or prayer for John would be appreciated just as well.  A close network of friends is trying to organize a page to facilitate the ongoing event, but for IMMEDIATE donations please mark as a “gift for John Walker” via Paypal to be sent to josh_kynd@yahoo.com.

I very RARELY endorse causes, but when I do it is with 110%.  There is so much more I want to say and could say, but all I can say in the end is this.  Treasure your time here on earth because you never know what can happen in an instant.  This event serves as an unpleasant reminder of that fact, but John always sees the lessons in things and gave that way of thought to me a long time ago.  I’ve not forgotten, buddy.  Here’s to talking with you when you get through all of this.

Love you, man.  Turn this thing around, buddy!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

