The sunny side of winter weather


What we’ve experienced in Dallas for the past week has been the worst winter weather in almost 20 years according the local reporters.  I’ve only been here for going on 15, so I’m glad I missed the referenced time.  Schools (and families) were dealing with school being out for almost 4 days straight (in some cases), but it looks like there was a lot of time to bond and for folks to enjoy not going to work in all the madness that was the icy, snow filled roads all over the Metroplex.

I actually ended up staying in Coppell Thursday night (after braving a 3 hour journey in) and stayed at a local hotel on the company dollar.  Felt good (although I had to be back by 5 AM and didn’t get off till 9 PM), but was out by 4 PM on Friday, allowing me to beat out the weekend traffic.  The sun started to show its face and pre-melt the landscape away, but since it started at 3 PM, anything melted was to re-freeze as MORE ice that night.  I got to the 3 locations I wanted to shoot and then went straight home before I was caught out in the danger.

Worst that happened is that I almost fell into a frozen pond, stumbled into a snow drift, and then almost got frozen out of my car.  All things considered, I’m a happy camper and the outcome of the work put into capturing this climactic event has been well worth the challenge.  I hope you enjoy these shots as well!

Snowy Roads in Coppell

Snowy Roads in Coppell

Cold as a Moment in Time

Cold as a Moment in Time

Forgotten Trestle

Forgotten Trestle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the footsteps followed me...

And the footsteps followed me...

Snow Day Sled Revelers

Snow Day Sled Revelers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sledding Preston 1

Sledding Preston 1

Downhill Duo 2

Downhill Duo 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

View from the bottom of the hill

View from the bottom of the hill

Snowy Bend

Snowy Bend

Frozen Thoroughfare

Frozen Thoroughfare

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winter Backroad 1

Winter Backroad 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Getting Directions 2

Getting Directions 2

Getting Directions 3

Getting Directions 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winter Way 3

Winter Way 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She talks to Angels

She talks to Angels

 

 

 

 

 

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

