Not the same old song and dance


St. Patrick’s Day and the spillover from people wanting to celebrate Mardi Gras made for a hell of a mesh this past week/weekend.  There was carousing in the streets from the low-lit taverns to the opulent ultra lounges of Uptown, spread to the lowlands of Lakewood, and even out to the outlying suburbs of the Hurst-Euless-Bedford area.

I happened to go visit a friend of mine who was DJ for an event at M Lounge out in that area and it was all smiles the whole night through.  Here’s a few shots from that endeavor:

Bottle Service

Bottle Service

Jai's Groove

Jai's Groove

The ladies are eating it up

The ladies are eating it up

The music, the madness, and the moment all seemed to meet up at the same time and allowed for this excellent shot:

M Lounge Faces

M Lounge Faces

The aforementioned was Tuesday.  Had a day to recuperate and helped out my roommate that Wednesday, but was back to the grind Thursday night.  Karaoke has become one of my new passions of the past two years and my friend, Dan hosts one of the newer and nicest ones by far during the week at Arcade Bar in the Lakewood area on both Thursday and Saturday nights.

If you can think it, it’s possibly in his songbook somewhere.  I kid you not.

Where else can I sing a song I’d hoped to find for the better part of ten years (with musical accompaniment, no less)?

Sting – “Moon Over Bourbon Street”

Again, the spirits and the songs led to camaraderie and here is Thursday’s showing of the week’s merrymaking:

Duets

Duets

Brothas Gonna Work it Out

Brothas Gonna Work it Out

Rufus Sings

Rufus Sings

Dan the Man (who is not REALLY working for the man)

Dan the Man (who is not REALLY working for the man)

The weekend here in Dallas saw the St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Lower Greenville, but on a day when green was the flavor, I decided to snap the other colors of the spectrum (and namely by night).  Got a chance to roll through downtown and capture a few more angles of the city not visited often.

Have a look for yourself:

Azul Moment

Azul Moment

Find the name of this building before me and win a prize!

Find the name of this building before me and win a prize!

The weekend rolled around and I caught up to the weekend birthday boy (Joel G) who also made his mark on the night with his homage to Charlie Sheen at The Windmill Saturday night.

Tiger Blood is indeed winning...

Tiger Blood is indeed winning...

Got up and took my first set of shots for a new possible slant for business and ended up with a look into another world of possibility by some esteemed friends of mine.  Something I’ll touch on at another time, but until then, the music always is present and always keeps the movie that is my life going on.

On the Radio...

On the Radio...

“Auxiliary command with the sound and a plan,

I control the volume of life I lead with what I experience and understand.”   – B. Knowles


The rest of this week’s photos can be found at:

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random in Dallas 2011

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

