Raves, Weddings, and Birthdays (not in that order)


Dallas once had a mainstay for nightlife in an area that was called Deep Ellum.  Slowly, but surely, our city council and its politicians found a way to bring the vivid pulse that it held to a crawl.  Only over the past two years has the heartbeat shown promise again.

The lifeblood was alive and pumping there this past Friday at The Boiler Room.  DJ Bear Who (familiar to those who know Basement Jaxx and DJ Sneak) came through and ROCKED the place proper.  Bumping jazzy, acid, dub, deep and all over the board House, he and the other DJs took a small  gathering and turned it into a grand revival!

Chris Jares in the mix

Chris Jares in the mix

The Boiler Room front bar

The Boiler Room back bar

Bear Who and the Dallas Crew once again!

Bear Who and the Dallas Crew once again!

Crowded Floor

Crowded Floor

At the end of the night, Bear Who took the time to pay homage to the past Dallas he once encountered as well as tribute to the Dallas of today.  All hands on deck were present for this shot.  FBK Crew, a few others, and Bear Who selling unity y’all!

Unity

Unity

The night turned into morning and that morning into one of the most gorgeous afternoons I’ve spent in Dallas pre-summer.  To top it all off, my friends (some of you know them), Woody and Elena, got married that day.  I brought my camera as asked and shot my second wedding ever.  I am glad to be able to both share from and to have shared in that day.

Newly Wedded

Newly Wedded

Always and Forever

Always and Forever

Garden Gate

Garden Gate

After helping to celebrate and send off my friends into the adventurous world of being husband and wife, I took a bit of time to settle in and prepare for my friend Mark’s birthday that night at Windmill Lounge.

I never realized how busy April was until THIS year.  Looks like everyone’s parents were getting busy in July back in the day, LOL.

Made a few stops around the city and ended the night with the merrymaking going on at Windmill Lounge.  Always a happy crowd, the music and people were alive and loud well until 2 AM.  From the looks of the pictures, I think Mark was pleased with the turnout (haha).

Presence

Presence

Spirits in Red

Spirits in Red

Energized Crowd

Energized Crowd

Birthday Boy

Birthday Boy

It took all of Sunday to get it all together, but this as the fruit of my labor I am pleased with.  Brought in the new, got rid of the blues, and got to borrow a little of the world’s time to put back into my own.

In the upcoming weeks I plan to revisit some of my past shots and show the progress made over the past 7 years of photographic shooting I have done.  That (along with me being on the road a lot next month) will drive the need for some decent filler, but I promise nothing of the same old, same old and so in moving from faces, I turn once more to places I know and have seen.

But before I close this one out, a salute goes out to the Four Horsemen.  We lose one, but still stand strong!

The Four Horsemen

The Four Horsemen

Links to this week’s pictures can be found at the following:

Bear Who at Boiler Room

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random in Dallas 2011/Bearwho at Boiler Room

Birthday at the Windmill for Mark

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random in Dallas 2011/Birthday at the Windmill for Mark

(Slideshows coming soon!!!)

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raves, Weddings, and Birthdays (not in that order)

  1. neenerz says:

    great pics rufus!

Leave a Reply

