712 photographs, 362 miles, 32 songs, 24 Hours, and 40 minutes later…


You never realize how much you love something until you put it down on paper and let the numbers show you.  This week’s title was inspired by this past weekend’s outline as I was doing work up and down I-35 and around Dallas.

Started off with my friend Paige’s birthday celebration at Zubar with the serious sounds of James Warren, Bryan Knolley, and James Kelley.  A lot of familiar faces came by to wish her well and the lady of the hour was doing it up proper.  Happy birthday, Paige!

The birthday girl in action

The birthday girl in action

I drove down to Austin on Saturday afternoon and caught up with both old and new friends.  Got to take in the sights and sounds of downtown, eat from some of the finest places in the city (silent nod to Aviary and Quality Seafood), and participate in the nightlife of another town altogether.

Speaking of getting down, the decor and sights shown to me by my friend Margo within Austin were beyond compare.  As many times as I’ve been in and out of the city, I’ve missed out on some of the hidden niches of culture that Austin has to offer.  From the East Sides haunts and dive bars, to the dizzying heights of Uptown, and into the safe sanctum of the ‘burbs, I experienced dining, dancing, and merrymaking that I’d not known (on that level) in some time.

The allure of the town this time was what I focused on.  Here are the standout shots of ambience I was able to capture from Saturday night in Austin:

Punk in the Discotech

Punk in the Discotech

Dark Brightness

Dark Brightness

Juke Joint

Juke Joint

Ended the weekend pulling double duty as both a photog and wedding DJ for my friends Antonio and Erin’s get together on Sunday evening.

Drove back late on Sunday after enjoying the crisp, invigorating air of a spring Sunday morning and setup for the wedding. Music ranged from Kool and the Gang to Peabo Bryson and on to Chris DeBurgh, but it was nice to be able to cover such a wide range and still not lose the audience.

Now for the wedding creme de la creme:

Isn't She Lovely?

Isn't She Lovely?

Well wishes

Well wishes

The Beginning is a Wonderful Place to Start

The Beginning is a Wonderful Place to Start

Come the end of the night, it was just the last of the gentleman and a few well-wishers to send the couple on their way, but I was able to impart a little bit of wisdom by way of Lionel Richie’s “Say You, Say Me.”

As another one of my friends steps into the world of marriage, the question hangs as to when or where for me?  I’ve still got a lot of stuff to get done before that becomes an option, but I’m not one to discount love.

As many people have found it over the past few years (as the numbers have shown this year in all the weddings I’ve attended), then there’s hope for even me.  As I’ve learned also through my lense and with my own eyes, you can’t hurry love.  Nothing worthwhile is worth rushing (just like photography or dj’ing).

As always, feedback is accepted and welcomed!

Here are this week’s links:

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random in Dallas 2011/Party for Paige at Zubar

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random in Dallas 2011/Austin May 2011

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Antonio and Erin get married

Share as you like or respond back to me here!  Thanks!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

