On the road again…


Summer is almost on us!

The ease of not worrying about school zones for three months, the joy of graduating seniors (much love to my friends doing so this semester, but especially my brother and sister) from all walks of life, summer storms, and the impending Memorial Day weekend all are true signs that my favorite time of year is almost here!

Went to Houston to visit family and while driving through Central Texas via Interstate 45 I drove through what seemed like a river pouring from the sky.  I went through a green-tinted sky and rain that fell sideways for near to 30 minutes before getting through it all.  Once I got past it, I saw what grief those having to drive INTO it were already dealing with (as show next).

Lights along the highway

Got in, got to celebrate with my family, and then prepare for the supposed Rapture predicted for this year. As expected the 6 PM deadline came and went on Saturday and things were still copacetic.

Roamed the old haunts around Houston and captured the following by photographing the grey, downtown streets where I once walked
Back blinker, Bright thoroughfare
and the verdant parks where I ran.
Through the trees

As always in life, I aim for balance and those shots really were the story of my high school years in Houston (partly running cross country and walking the city to see what stories it had to tell). My tastes graduated as soon as I did from high school and I took off without looking back. It’s nice to see that the city has come along so nicely since I left it 15 years ago.

Had a few more pics, but decided to showcase the Flickr shots this time:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/55412227@N07/

The alternates can be found at the following link:
http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/From%20the%20Road%202011

In regards to this week’s title, I have been to Austin one weekend, to Houston this past weekend, and now will head off to my familial hometown of Hondo, TX via Interstate 35 come next Friday. Been on the Road so much that I’ve started a second “From the Road” series that I intend to run intermittently to keep content fresh and inviting.

This weekend will prove t0 be capture worthy since so many people will have 3 to 4 day weekends. Whatever you decide to get into this holiday weekend, be safe, be merry, and stay smiling! Maybe you’ll see yourself on here!

Happy early Memorial Day weekend, folks!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

