Summer Steps into Full Swing


I had an amazing weekend in town for the first time in a while.  So amazing that I actually shaved off the mustache I have had for the better part of a year as well (pic below)!  I actually stayed in city for the first time in almost a month and got to catch up with some notable locals (and local events) as we stepped into our first 100 degree weather days here in Dallas.

A-Kon (an Anime convention here in Dallas) was this past weekend alongside of two nights of serious dancing ranging from the Electric Eighties and Soulful Seventies.  I got a chance to meet Peter S. Beagle (the author of The Last Unicorn) after attempting to catch up with him for almost 2 years.  I had a wonderful conversation with the man about the past, present, and possible future of the tale and even got to take a picture with him.  It felt really great getting to say thanks to a childhood hero in person.

The rest of the weekend was spent in capturing the other revelers at the event in all their manner of dress and the night time events aforementioned.  Absinthe Lounge hosted “Disco’s Revenge” on Friday night and was a very happy intro into the weekend.  Didn’t leave till the lights came on.  This was followed by Saturday night over at Fallout Lounge with the Pop sounds of the 80s ushering in much joy in both those who lived the era and now are repeating its ways.

Here’s this week’s highlights:

I would be amiss without mentioning that seeing this city come alive after watching the Mavs win the 2011 NBA Playoffs was something amazing.  Glad to see another Texas team take it home (although my loyalty to the Spurs has not wavered) and may end up with a few shots of the city taking it all in.  I think the city as a whole is still in shock, honestly.

Come what may, I am a resident of this city and regardless of what team I support, this is where I live, play, work, and love.  My passions drive me to do so much and thus I share this page with you.

Speaking of showing love, I’ll share the first of this week’s set of photo links:

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random%20in%20Dallas%202011/Discos%20Revenge%20June%202011

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random%20in%20Dallas%202011/80s%20Party%20with%20John%20Vella

The remainder of the pics (from the convention and a few more “from the road”) will go up on Friday.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated as always!  See you on Thursday!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

