Bangin the Box


Happy belated birthday to the homie, Kenton King!  Last Thursday was a celebration at Beauty Bar for him and here are a few pics of how the episode went down:

Since it’s been a while (and I have a body of work that spans several years), I’m going to be posting links to some of my older works over the next few weeks as well as some of the current content.  Just a photo here or there, but just a dash of something different from already known fare.

Scene From a Dallas Street (August 2008)

Scene From a Dallas Street (August 2008)

This picture and a slew of my old point and shoot shots can be found at the following link:

 

 

 

 

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f116/rufuspunk/Professional%20Work/

I also work on a local podcast, run a side photography business, and DJ from time to time and this summer is looking to be one of the busiest I’ve had in a long time.  Instead of putting this thing on hiatus, I’d rather keep it going with SOME form of worthwhile content.  The older stuff that I shot with a point and shoot in some cases actually beats out what I have with my DSLR.  The desire to do more with less drives a lot of what you see with my “minimal” style.

I’ve gotten a few comments and feedback from folks who ask what do I use for editing or post-photo work.  In more cases than not, I’m doing NOTHING.  I believe in the moment and capturing life as it is/was.  Barring removing red-eye when needed or cropping out distracting portions/extreme negative space, you are getting what I’ve captured with the lens.  I don’t try to force people into fawning for the camera and outside of the shoots that I have done by request, I hardly ever do.

“The moment” is what is a joy to capture and to see the GENUINE spark of human interaction is my goal.  I’m not saying I will NEVER get into the full power of Photoshop and everything else out there.  I just want to make sure that I am mastering what the apparatus is first before leaning on software to master the artform for me.

To my mentors, Ray and Peter Lek, William Neal, and Jim Pasant:  A million times thank you for your listening ear, honest feedback, and sideline guidance.  It is both appreciated and invaluable.

To you, the Reader:  Thank you for your interest!  As the stat tracker has shown, this thing is growing and I’m glad that both MY passion and YOUR curiosity can keep meeting up like this.

As always, if you like what you see, then share the blog with others and if you decide to use a photo (or would like a copy), hit me up (or at least credit me).  That’s all I ask.

Till next time!

Excelsior!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bangin the Box

  1. Parker Lee says:

    Yooo! it was rad running into you last night. props to the lockin’

    you took that black n’ white pic of me and my friend, it’s parker <~~~~ the asian ;p

    any idea when you're gonna post them up?

Leave a Reply

