Holding Back the Years


I try not to get to personal with my own blog and normally offer just an outsider’s view of the different goings on within life. Today is something different for this photoblog. A moment for reflection on loss of a loved one.

Today, my only living grandparent left passed away.
  Reginald Bryant Pope (father of my stepmother) took me in as one of his own and gave me the understanding of what a good, honest life can lead to.

The respect he garnered in my youth stands still years later not just through myself and other family members, but others within the Galveston community that he nurtured with his compassion and involvement.

One of the best memories I hold of him was him taking me aside and telling me how when all the kids picked on me for being a nerd that it was okay because I would never be them.  I didn’t get what he meant back then, but I do now.  Without being crass or rude just to be rude, he knew that just being myself would be far better than trying to be whatever the other kids wanted me to be.

He is survived by his children, some cousins, and a host of grandchildren who love him (and now his memory).  Just like the way he accepted me into his family all those years ago, I am glad to have known him and experienced 26 years of life with him as my grandfather.

My grandfather, Reginald Pope

My grandfather, Reginald Pope

Grandpa relaxing

Grandpa relaxing

Generational Ties

Generational Ties

 

I’ll do my best to make sure your benevolence continues, but as you used to do for me in my youth, you leave me with more questions than answers to figure out on my own. I’m not so afraid of death as I am of not doing more with the life I have, but if your life was any inclination that living well and doing right by others is INDEED the best policy then I can’t wait to see the payouts when it is time for my own homecoming.

You have served well in this life and may God reunite you with grandma to live and love forever.

Love and miss you, grandpa.

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holding Back the Years

  1. LOVES THIS POST CUZ!!!!

  2. Reggy Knowles says:

    Beautiful! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

