Been So Long


Taking the time to remember the past while living in the present is the photographer’s goal.  Sometimes we can even go so far as to show images of a future yet to be, but that is a topic for another time/entry.

Yesterday was the TEN YEAR anniversary of the September 11th attacks on America from 2001.  I was still a naive, young man of 23 and was hurt, disheartened, and confused by what was going on at the time.  Many of us were thrown for a loop by the events of that day, but in the months and following year or two afterwards we came to recognize the good in one another.

People were driving less like maniacs and more like considerate human beings.  People were holding doors and offering passage without shoulder bumping or shrugging others off like common rabble.  I remember that it was even so good to where the careful stares and eyes I was normally given in affluent areas or just walking through my old Plano neighborhood were replaced with waves and “Hellos!”  The war started and the discontent in our hearts (and around the world) began to grow once more.

Society became more and more enamored with “reality” and less with the reality of life and now we have a politically-correct, coddled society that is hellbent on self-service and less on the cause and care of one’s fellow man.  The “Dog-eat-Dog” world that was once sated during the aftermath of 9/11 has come to rear its head high once again.

Fast forward to yesterday and a visit to White Rock Lake here in Dallas.  Clear, azure skies reflected in the lake below with different scenes of synergy between man, machine, and nature.  Cyclists, joggers, animals (including a horse!) and yours truly engaged in a peaceful day under a forgiving sun that we’d not known in some time.

I went so far as to create an album to reflect just that serene day and as my own tribute to those lost on that terrible day ten years ago (and during the conflicts we’ve waged since):

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/Random%20in%20Dallas%202011/September%2011%202011%20Remembrance

I also took on a multi-shoot weekend and got to take pictures for a local church to show the innate beauty of the building from an outsider’s perspective and also did a food photoshoot for one of my friend’s restaurants in Grapevine.  I never thought I would end up taking in the mysteries of faith and the determination of man to cook a wholesome meal within a 5 hour span, but that is exactly what happened.  I’ll share what I can, but have to run the real proofs by the church before displaying all of it.

I always honor the contract privileges made between client and service provider.  Without trust there can be no REAL business (or hope of future business), so I’ve found.

That said, here are this week’s highlights:

One day changed so many and it is my hope that one day we will have all changed to ensure that nothing like that happens again.  They may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.

😉

I’ll end with the musical inspiration for this entry (an echo of my new relationship with my girlfriend Mandy and ongoing passion for life and living):

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

