When the lights go out…


…what goes on in your head?

Pallid skies accompanied by a constant drizzle, the hustle and bustle of people trying to rush through the big city to make it home in time to tidy up for their families, and the prospect of driving 6 1/2 hours across Texas make how close we are to the end of 2011 a stark reality.

As much as I post up my pictures and music, I’ve shied away from turning this photoblog into full-on story time. I keep it personal when fitting and normally stop from too deep a reflection on things. Today’s entry is a little bit different.

Thanksgiving is in less than 3 days and I’m already in dread and thankful hope of the day itself (since any time I can spend with my mother and stepfather is a blessing, it’s the words that happen during my visits that make or break the stays). The fact that I can still have words with them trumps any negative though, so I go willfully. I lost my paternal grandmother around this time of year back in 1999 and that always is a damper. I still miss her and her counsel. She was always one with a quip or a thought to make things better. I’ve gotten a lot of my inspiration in life from her. Her ability to smile through even the worst of things and make a meaningful difference in so many lives I’ve never forgotten.

The thoughts and words of those who I’ve loved who have passed on are the whispers I hear in my ear or in that tiny silence where thought explodes in your head. Their memories and subtle hints at living are what come to me when the lights go out.

Beyond thinking of the collective that I house in my brain from years gone by, I also realize that when the lights go out that some of the most AMAZING things in life happen. I’ll let you interpret that as you will, but it’s more than innuendo. As much as I love the sun and the daylight, I’ve come to respect the night time as well. Freedom starts at 5 PM for most folks and that’s where/when the party begins.

Speaking of parties, here’s some of the parties from last week (and a few variants):

2012 is looming in the background, but I can’t say that 2011 has been a bad year. It may seem bad at the very end of it all, but the progress made (and planned from here on out) more than makes for whatever pains I’ve endured. Dreams became reality and I found myself more time to dream (and dream BIGGER). When the lights go out I no longer have the fear of the dark like when I was a child, but rather hope of ideas to come.

Everything is everything. You know?

And here is today’s musical nod and title inspiration:

(extra side note: This is my 100th post! Feel free to leave a comment if you see this last part) as this is really a test to see about who really reads this thing or if the pictures really cover enough. See you on Thursday!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

