Back in the Saddle


Last year I took the things I wanted to achieve and wrote them down so that I could see what I thought I wanted for myself in the future. Once I had it kinda memorized, I took it and burned the list the night before New Year’s Eve.
I truly believed (and do still) that what God wants will happen and that if I put a little effort in things I think I want that if He finds favor that I’ll get the results I wanted in the first place.

If things don’t come to fruition, I wasn’t meant to have it.

Three days ago, I get the message that D Magazine (a prominent print here in Dallas, TX) wanted to use some of my photos from Ghostbar’s NYE party. With the help of a friend with the eye for what the readership wants, I was able to get some of my work used for the online component of the magazine. Here’s the associated link:

http://www.dmagazine.com/Nightlife/01-01-12_Ghostbar/Ghostbar_01.aspx

Item number 7 on the Top 10 came true and it’s only the 4th day of 2012. Also got word that I’ll become the prime photo for Ghostbar‘s events soon after the D Magazine business and I’m still reeling from how fast goodness has hit me.

Humility and treating people both well AND right has paid off. All those times that I inwardly regretted being the person that I am (yes, I have those moments) have all been shown to be for naught since paying it forward has paid out in huge dividends to me. The monetary gain is not the answer, but rather the legacy I’m getting a chance to build and the name that I already hold are the fruits of my humility and honesty.

Not going to go into full-on Tim Tebow mode, but I am thankful to my Creator for what I believe to be the secret assist and kick in the ass to take this photography thing serious enough to make headway in life. Right after Him are those of you who keep checking this page out to see what happens next. My UTMOST thanks to all of you!

Announcing the first change of 2012, I’m going to be running more “From the Road” pics (due to their popularity from last year) and starting a new theme entitled “Shapes”.

“Shapes” will be an abstract collection, but came about from realizing that capturing the faces and places (while challenging) is an everyday endeavor, but that making a picture of something of something else from something else ENTIRELY different is my next challenge to myself.

I’ve taken a lot of chances on myself over the past year and intend to take a few more before this year is up.

“Always different. Never the same” may be replacing “Absolutely not the same thing every time.”

I’m back in the saddle again, y’all!

See you soon,

– Brian aka Rufus

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

