Getting to the Good Part


Here we are on the 12th day of 2012 and already the roller coaster of the weather ride has begun! Went up to about 65 degrees yesterday and by the time night had fully embraced the area we were down to 28 or 29 degrees! All in the space of less than 12 hours! The adage stands true about weather in my state:

“If you don’t like the weather in Texas, just wait 5 minutes.”

😉

As fast as the weather changes is as fast as the Dallas skyline and outlying properties change as well these days. Just two days ago the Margaret Hunt Hill Bridge (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margaret_Hunt_Hill_Bridge) went up over the Trinity River between Downtown Dallas and some parts of the hood. It almost seems like a bridge to nowhere when you look at it now, but the supposed payoff is to come down the line. It’s a beautiful sight, but I’m still torn as to its need in our city when we have potholes that can devour entire family vans, but it is what it is (and a healthy challenge to capture in its newness from angles not yet fully explored). I braved the cold, windy (and damp) bottom of the Trinity River floodplain and outlying area to get some of my best night photos as of yet, I believe. Couldn’t feel my fingers for 5 minutes after I was done, but no pain, no gain, right?

Here’s a link to the first round of “From the Road 2012”:
http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc473/ebonsoul2k11/From%20the%20Road%202012/

Here’s today’s standouts from the excursion:

One of the first new endeavors of the year (as always) is to become better with the craft and so I joined an online photog community over at 500PX. I’ve culled a lot of content and narrowed down some of my faves to share there, but feel free to comment either there or here. Here’s the link:

http://ebonsoul.500px.com/#/0

Without feedback it is tough to gauge the affect of one’s work (other than the numbers I pull behind the scenes). Even a “LOL” or a “I can’t believe you took a picture of that!” would suffice. Would love to see more comments here! Get to cracking (or cracking wise), folks!

Outside of that, the year’s path is still looking bright. Lining up more work due to recent exposure and also getting more acclimated with the business side of this photog lifestyle. Not as scary as I thought, but still learning the ropes and pacing myself.

Maybe this will be the year it all goes supernova, but if the world is to indeed end, at least I know that I’m giving my all into making this thing work. It’s all about getting to the good part. 🙂

Here’s Herbie Hancock with today’s title tie-in:

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

