Back Down Memory Lane


The dread time nears.  The time of year that most men dread and some women crave.

VALENTINE’S DAY.

I’m going to see if I can sneak through another one without too much damage, but it’s getting tougher than normal this year.  At the bright point, this will be 16 years of marriage for my mother and stepfather (congrats!), so there is that to look forward to in this world of “Hello/Goodbye” romance.

I’ve guarded my heart pretty well through the cases where I could’ve cashed in the emotion that I put into my art and only recently tried to share a little more than I normally would with others, but still not looking for a pay out.  These things just happen (and each time seems better than the last), so I can wait.

Speaking of waiting, today’s entry is going to be semi-stilted.  If you view this before 2 PM, this will be a fly by posting.  If you view this after 2 PM, it will have a few more links added to it.  Worst come to worst, I’ll add links and more info for Thursday’s post.

[EDIT:  Stayed up and added the links.  I hate incomplete work and would rather suffer from lack of sleep than have a shotty product.  This integrity thing is tough to shake, lol]

Think of it as this week’s lagniappe.    😉

http://s1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc404/Carmenskaraoke/The%20Goat%202012/

Here’s Tuesday’s batch:

In regards to today’s title, this is both a tribute to times already passed, the fact that I flipped 30,101 photos in a year-and-a-half period of time (CRAZY!), and to people living the moment to its fullest.

The woman in “Thumbs Up” was at Beauty Bar Friday night and refused to let a hurt thumb put a damper on a good time.  In regards to “…and she didn’t need a teleprompter…” what my camera could not tell you is that the woman is BLIND.  When you BECOME the song and know it that intimately, you don’t need any aid.  And she ROCKED it.

Our memories are powerful things and pray we never forget that (pun intended).

Here’s to Mnemosyne!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

