Flashing Lights


All my life I’ve lived less than a mile from train tracks.  I realized this odd fact some years ago and the trend has continued on to present day.  The sound and fury of the “Iron Horse” as it runs the rails has been a pleasure to my ears ever since I was a child.  Knowing that it connected every single one of the places that I cherished as home was another part of that allure that has enamored me for so long. 

From the Southeast reaches of Texan bayous to the far sprawl of Hill Country, the silver parallels run without fear and forever carry the history of our nation on its back.  You may remember my entry of last year about a midnight train ride(https://rufuspfunk.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/a-walk-on-the-wildside/, in case you missed it) and how much inspiration I drew from it and the music it reminded me of.

Here’s today’s pics for your viewing pleasure:

Today I call to mind another song to match the pictures in question.  Thanks to the emotional turmoil of the past week since my Uncle passed away and having to deal with a vehicle entering its death throes, I’ve seen more than just these physical “flashing lights.” 

It has taken me some time, some quiet reflection, and a lot of patience to get to the place where I am right now emotionally.  I’m not such a raw nerve as I was on Thursday, but I am still going to have to watch myself as I travel home to bury my kinfolk.  Tact, a mindful mouth, and a bit of the old wisdom given to me by my grandparents must rule the day rather than emotion alone.

It’s the dour times that bring us to these crossings in life and while you can tempt the fates by trying to cross in a hurry, there’s no sense in trying to risk being run over by the train that is life.  It weighs heavy enough on its own and I’m not trying to get crushed by it.

I just have to be patient enough to let this rough patch of living go by and cross when all is clear.  Patience IS a virtue.

Thanks to all those who have sent their condolences as well.  My family and I appreciate it immensely.

Kanye, sing it to em raw:

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

