Journey to the Center of the World


As a DJ, I tell stories with other people’s records/music.

As a writer, I tell my own story, but with influence from the whole of human history.

As a photographer, I am forced to tell you every thing you need to know with a single shot. Now mind you, I can take multiple pictures and tell you that much more, but the POWER of being able to do everything in one shot is what separates those still learning the craft and those working to improve their mastery of the craft.

As I make my way through the tedium of living, I run into choice opportunities to take pictures all the time. The decision as to WHEN and WHOM to take pictures of is the toughest part of things in all honesty. As the ease of use for DSLRs has come forward, more and more people are able to snap pics (even with their cell phones) and then put them up with glorious definition.

The way I stay ahead of the rest is that I go to the places that people don’t think of. I am willing to walk the streets at 3 or 4 AM in Oak Cliff. I’ve leaped away from the teeth of stray dogs in dilapidated buildings. I’ve even hung over the side of overpasses upside down to get just the right angle of traffic that I couldn’t get otherwise because that is how much I LOVE this craft.

When I started, this was a nice hobby that I picked up because others believed in me and my ability. Now, as I’ve gotten better and slowly grown into a small business, I hope that this photoblog is inspiring others to get out there and see more of the world than what lies at the end of their block. Say “Hi” to your neighbor or go somewhere you’ve never been before, but do something DIFFERENT. The center of the world is NOT ourselves, but the relationships we hold with OTHERS. THAT is the heart of ALL things.

All too often we sit back and get used to the gentle lull that life leads us into. I’ve found myself out there in places that I never thought I’d be at. The funny thing is that every time I do, I tell myself that there’s even MORE out there if I just try.

“Do or do not. There is no try.”

Be good to one another (and to those celebrating it, a happy, early Easter)!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

