Word, Sound, Power


Got a chance to capture joy in its finest this past weekend, so I stepped up with no delay. Much as I do with my music, I feel out what the moment calls for and don’t snap the shot till I feel the moment is there. Sometimes (as life happens) I miss it, but when I GET it, it’s EVERYTHING.

My quest to be MY best continues. I thank you all for journeying alongside me as I become the creature I want to be. Too often people think that my photography is all about becoming a celebrity, getting past door covers, or trying to impress women. My photography is therapeutic for me as it helps me engage the world in ways I sometimes don’t think I would. As outspoken as I can be, my camera becomes my face and sometimes speaks more for me than I do.

The doors it has opened and the joy it has unlocked I am forever thankful for. When I take a picture, it is MY way of being in that moment (and hopefully leaving my own mark without taking away from the experience for others). Case in point, some of the pictures from J. Rocc (of The Beat Junkies) at Sandaga 813 this past Saturday for Debbie Does Disco:

The Native Americans were afraid that the camera would somehow steal their souls when photographed. My goal is to show the soul in its full glory and offer it back to the individual. As we can never look upon ourselves (without mirrors), it is that little bit that I can give back. I may never be super famous or even popular for my work, but that’s okay.

To see people enjoy what you do AND enjoy doing it.

THAT is the ultimate euphoria. Put that on this life.

WORD. SOUND. POWER.

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

