Why I Came to California


I went to California for a bachelor party, but ended up leaving with a greater realization about my own life.

I’ve spent 16 years living in Dallas and most of my 34 years on planet Earth in Texas. I’ve taken some risks, but not as many as I could have. I’m not getting younger and I’m still healthy and single with not much responsibility over my head. The trip to Brazil next year was meant to be life changing (and I’m sure it still will be), but REALLY experiencing living where it’s a state-wide version of Austin was eye-opening.

Here’s just the beginning of what I captured in California:

I’ve questioned my core and while I have no plans on uprooting to move out West on a whim, I DO plan on making a trek out somewhere new every year instead of taking in state vacations as I have for so long. I cast off the rags of conformity and safety to take on the mantle of mastery through the unknown. I live life without a gameplan most of the time and I’ve both lost and gained a lot through it. I’m glad to be the creature I am today and realize more and more that no one should be a slave to the opinions of others. It is great to have a healthy respect for other’s opinions, but when the opinions are coming from folks with some suspect clarity in their OWN right, how correct can it be to follow in their footsteps?

Taking my own chances at the helm and I’m willing to see how far I go before I run aground or if the tradewinds will catch my sails and push in a new direction I could never have imagined. My photography went up a notch as noted by a few during the trip and I was even approached by two individuals who wanted to buy just my candid pics I took at an event while visiting. It feels good to know that even away from home turf that I can make an impact enough to garner GOOD attention.

I’m both blessed and thankful for what I’ve been given and THAT is what separates me from most, I feel. Without OTHERS, there is no way I can present MY craft as well as I do. Too many people I know think it is about THEM and what THEY are doing.

Life is us all, my friends.

I’m glad I didn’t have to come to California to figure that out.

Here is the inspiration for today’s title:

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Nightlife, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Came to California

  1. No regrets. That’s the best way to live.

Leave a Reply

