Rock N Soul


Fall 2012 has finally peaked from around a fondly forgotten corner and decided to tease it’s presence here in Dallas. This means that A) the Texas State Fair is around the corner, B) the days are going to start ending sooner (tears go here), and that the end of all that mankind has known draws ever closer (if we are to believe the hoopla that the Mayans and pop culture have given us).

Now I don’t know about you, but I’M going to enjoy going out of existence if that’s really the case. Not that I have put much stock into that belief, you can tell from the pictures and links alone that I’m not trying to sleep my days away, lol.

Took in Fashion’s Night Out on Thursday at It’ll Do, rested up on Friday and then Saturday was roaming the city with my camera scouting new angles on the city. Was going to do a Brewfest for some of the local beers that are up and coming at an event called Untapped, but backed out at the last minute. The evening lead into beating Darksiders II (must recommend it for EXCELLENT gameplay for your system of choice) and movies.

Woke up Sunday morning and commenced with what I now call Sunday Morning Services. I go to church from time to time, but find my solace on Sunday mornings pulling out my vinyl and just listening to music as it speaks to my soul. I usually make breakfast and sit with the sunlight coming in, orange juice flowing like a brisk stream, and music all of types playing as I see fit. It’s been going on for near two months (minus the trip to LA) now. One of the songs I heard actually led me to go out and sing karaoke at The Goat that night.

The Goat (as it always is) was abuzz with that lively energy that takes a regular night and puts it on it’s head. No fights, but tons of frolicking and merrymaking of the mischievous sort. Saw some friends I had not seen in a while, celebrated a local musician’s birthday, and closed out the weekend in high spirits.

It wasn’t till I got home Monday morning that I remembered that the Hall & Oates concert that I’d been waiting for was Monday night. Surprise awesome is awesome! Worked through today, had myself looked over by some of the new ladies at work (which was a boost to my pride today), and rushed home to prepare for the concert.

I did get to sort these pics out before leaving out:

Hall & Oates DESTROYED any semblance of soullessness in Suburbia. I’d go so far as to say that this was the most rhythm and soul that that city will have for at least 3 generations, :p Hall sang the highs and Oates sang the lows and in between the rest of their band showed off their individual talents. Here’s a taste: WATCH IT BEFORE IT GOES AWAY!

Rock N Soul is just a part of what I am. There are parts of me still trying to cohere together, but the overall product is of stern sound and quality so far. As long as I keep putting effort into trying to be better, things seem to get better. And that’s what I intend to do until either the world ends or I do. Whichever comes first.

I’d also like to take a moment to remind you all to have a moment of silence for the fallen here in America from the 9/11 attacks. I didn’t want to make the day any more somber than it is remembered for, BUT it still must be remembered. Eleven years or even in one HUNDRED and eleven years, it must never be forgotten. If we are to evolve as a species, we gotta learn to coexist.

WE’VE GOT TO.

Never stop evolving. Believe that!

See you on Thursday!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

