Night Vision


Instead of seizing the day, I’ve invested in the night. The music, the arts, the STORIES seem to lie there more than it’s brightly lit counterpart. As fall has now turned into a touch of what North Texas calls winter, more live music is finding its way into my life and a slew of art shows/galleries are showing/opening up.

I shot an event for Roche Bobois this past Wednesday, a downtown shoot for dancers on Friday, the Tiny Thumbs Pop Up Arcade on Saturday (directly followed by Art Con 8, where my artwork sold for $100), and then crashed on Sunday night after staying up to push out all the content of the previous days in an expedient manner. There’s just something about being FIRST to share news or the relevance of things that I’m hooked on. I think most folks can relate to that. 😉

Monday night was both a gift and a challenge to myself. Last month you may have seen my pictures of the Chihuly exhibit at the Dallas Arboretum by day. I was able to get in and do the night tour and while night photography IS one of my fortes, I’ve been forcing myself to watch my white balance and become even MORE critical of the shots I take. Tonight’s challenge was a full memory card with one bar of battery power and NO FLASH use AT ALL. Didn’t know how it was going to turn out and I only had one evening to do it with, so the stakes were high with risk of failure or lack of quality.

Total count of shots was 274 on one bar. 42 clear winners (so by default I beat the 10% rule and then some).
I’ll leave some of tonight’s fare here for you to decide how I did.

As always, thank you for your continued support and feedback. Alongside of shooting so many events this past week, I’ve also made some new contacts in the city. If all goes well, I’ll have a HUGE announcement to make come Thursday about my endeavors with my camera. Locking it in first, THEN I’ll share it.

I’ll also make Thursday link day back to ALL of the photos from last week.

Until that time, here’s to having VISION. See you on Thursday!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

