Charming


Unemployment for some means a way to ease back from day to day tedium.  For me it’s been a time to explore the deeper depths of what art really means to myself (and to so many others).  For the first time in a long while (with the two art shows I’ve been a part of) I know the power of being in FRONT of the lens instead of just behind it all the time.

I don’t know that I’ll trade those roles any time soon, but at least I know that feeling again.  It feels good.

Speaking of feeling good, the weather in Texas is uncommonly warm for December. 80 degrees outside with open skies allowed for a grand launch of both the Perot Museum which opened this past Saturday and a poolside party at Ku De Ta for the French Express 2012 Tour. Here are links to both of my stories with Dallas’ Central Track magazine:

http://centraltrack.com/Culture/2929/Nature-Calls/Scenes-From-Saturdays-Grand-Opening-of-the-Perot-Museum-of-Nature-and-Science

http://centraltrack.com/Nightlife/2927/Pool-Cue/French-Express-Brought-Summer-Back-to-Ku-De-Ta-This-Weekend

Last Friday night I was able to partner up for a media project for the Art Is… Charity at Connective Hub in Addison.  A fantastic array of different type of visual and musical artists were present for the event.  My friend, Kyle Kondas, and I took on a new way to showcase his art to the audience which seemed to be a hit.  Talks are already in the works for how to make it into an ongoing thing.  Here is a look at some of those goings on:

Posing til Closing

Posing til Closing

The Face of Teamwork

The Face of Teamwork

Projecting Self

Projecting Self

Threearranged

Threearranged

Phase 1

Phase 1

Digital Beauty

Digital Beauty

Outside of that, I have two new stories in the works already for next week and a DJ gig in Austin that I’m glad to be a part of.  This one differs in that it is not dance music, but the challenge of giving an eclectic mix of sounds from then and now has been entrusted to me.  As you’ve guessed by now, I’m not one to back down from a challenge easily or often.

Not everything can be charming, but sometimes the best stories are the roughest ones.  Otherwise, we’d all be bored to tears with how easy life could be.

Never give em the same thing every time.  You know the motto.  😉

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

