Happy Feelings


Struggle is worth it.  Without digging too deep into the annals of the past, Black History Month is about to close, but I would like to take today to acknowledge the long list of those who have come before me to make the opportunities I have in my life possible.

I am the hope of the slave so many years ago and the product of two parents whose lives were touched by the tail end of an era in America where hard times for blacks were accepted as the norm.  My thanks to their sacrifices for me, to their parents before them, and to all the other notable Blacks around the world who aspired for our lot in life to become better.

I hope that when my life is done that I’ve helped to keep things moving forward not just for my race, but HUMANITY as a whole.  There should be no need to relegate triumph to just a month for a type of people, but as it is what it is at the moment I will relish it and make sure that history doesn’t leave out what was and who has been.

With that out of the way, I share happy feelings in the way of pics I was able to take for Erykah Badu‘s birthday this past Tuesday night at The Granada Theater.  Amazing event and the energy in that place was unparalleled.  Ms. Badu took us to the churchhouse and back with her soul-slinging, sultry voice.

I’d give you a million pics, but this is the one that means the most to me.

Myself and Erykah Badu

Myself and Erykah Badu

Here’s a link to some of what I CAN share with you.  But fret not!  In a grand turn of events, I got to work with Ms. Badu and her team, so it looks like my pics will be used by her and her management team in some form or fashion.  When that goes live, I promise to share that with you all (if they don’t beat me to it)!

In the interim, here you go:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.486972491367986.1073741825.227797643952140&type=1

I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to also photograph both Calvin Harris AND Sasha this weekend at two separate events.  Getting the chronicle the evolution of Dallas nightlife never was on my radar even a decade ago, but the ability to do so now makes me happier day by day.

It’s not every day that you get to do something that you LOVE doing, but I’m doing it.

This is the reason for my happy feeling.  I’ll let Frankie Beverly sing my emotion for today.  See you next week with more.  Love you all and keep doing good in your hood, wherever that may be!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Feelings

Leave a Reply

