Towers to the Sky


With the turn of April I always find myself either preparing or already on my month long tour of Texas to celebrate my birthday with friends and family.  This year I made my first stop back in Houston (aka Space City). With as much stuff is being built here these days, the latter term is dually applicable.

It is amazing to see how many towers to the sky this city has erected since I left 17 years ago.  The streets have gotten no better, but the edifices aligning them are magnificent.  Houston has long been a form over fashion town, so I can kind of understand how that works, haha.

The sky is the limit in this town and even then there seems to be little limit.  We’ve guided man to the moon and back and stand tall with a long history as an Oil & Gas town.  The people move slow, but the speed of life here is fast.  Dare I say it rivals Dallas at times.  If you blink, the deal is gone.  You have to hustle hard and fast if you are to make it here.  These streets are beautiful, but cold and confusing at times.

I was a novice to the ways of the world when I left, but here at 34 I can respect the city for the hard-edged creature that it is.  Maybe it’s time for us to meet up once more.  At least visiting has made me more aware of what is out here (as well as brought me back to my family again for a small time).  My next stop will have nothing like the tall steel and concrete giants that you see here today, but it’s power lies in its people and their hearts.

Next stop is Southeast Texas and my hometown of Orange.  Tomorrow I leave the city gardens and fast food behind and trade them for pine trees and home cooking.  It’s not a bad life.

You don’t have to have skyscrapers present to break through the sky.

Next time I report in, I’ll be 35.  Thank you for some of the well wishes that I’ve already received from some of you! It (and the support you lend in visiting this site) is always appreciated!

Take it away, Deodato!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

