A Prayer for the Living


It’s been a rough week here in America.

We’ve dealt with a series of bombs that rocked the Boston Marathon and put the world on notice earlier this week now followed by a fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas.

A vote to deal with gun control via the Senate is already causing division once more in the nation and the rush to be the first with the news has made a mockery of what used to be factual reporting (I’m looking at you, CNN).

In our search for justice and truth, we sometimes forget the American way along the path.  We’ve been shown both our vicious side (in regards to namecalling and placing blame without facts shortly after the Boston bombing) and our humane side (in the outpouring of support for both the aforementioned cities).  To add to the humane side winning the war, the show of love for my friend John Walker has been immense and he is on the mend and somewhat talking again.  He is OUT of his coma!   🙂

I just always marvel at why it takes such terrible times to unify the greater pocket of people with love for their fellow man to actually DO good instead of doing it all the time.  I guess I should be thankful in the fact that it happens at all.  Pessimism strikes closer to my heart and mind every day, but I must not give in.

I REFUSE to give in.  Neither should you.

If you want to help the affected then call up your local Red Cross and see what is needed.  Blood, time, lodging, care, or donation means all the world.

The title of today’s song is a prayer for the dying, but I choose to say a prayer for the living as well.  We are the ones left here to try to make this world work and we cannot do it alone.  No one is going to get out of here alive, so why not try to make the experience worthwhile for each other while we’re still here?

A quote I got from Twitter sums up the events of the past month/week quite well: “This week has been a STRONG reminder that I don’t have any REAL problems.”

Always worth repeating that perspective is everything. 

A Mother in Prayer

A Mother in Prayer

If you pray, pray for those affected.  If you don’t, then a kind thought will suffice just as well.  Be well until next time and try to put a little joy into the world around you.

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

