Stomp!


Only two more entries before birthday month is up, but I had to give a nod to my friends here in Austin for helping me to enjoy turning 35 this year.

Escaped Dallas before the city went into lockdown with the opening of the Bush Library at SMU and left the chill (mostly) behind as well.  Caught up with some friends at Butterfly Bar and saw the fair East side of the city with some of AirBnB‘s freshest faces.

Only in Austin can you cross paths with a fetish meetup at the self-same venue and have a laugh at the thought of the two crossing ventures, haha.  Talk about keeping Austin weird!

Enjoyed a few spirits and made my way to Zocalo to dine properly and somehow got my order for FREE.  I still am unsure of how that happened, but I thank the young lady for the gracious offer and will have to pay it forward.

The madness of the evening and the ever present weird (but good) vibe lingered on as the night progressed.  When I got to my DJ gig, there were only a few people (and a few faces that I recognized).  Come 1 AM, the floodgates opened and the place packed in pretty nicely.  I thought Dallas partied late!  Obviously Wednesdays after 1 is the prime time here!  Here’s a few pics from the party:

Will be playing later this weekend for a surprise second set somewhere here in Austin, but not sure of which location it will be yet.  It was a total last minute thing, but in the spirit of keeping Austin (and this week) weird, I was asked to play Chill Out and Yacht Rock.

The crate packing was fierce, but the Michael McDonald and Chicago were brought along to do the job as well.

If I could just live the Bohemian lifestyle and just take pics and play music wherever I went, I think I’d be the happiest ever.  It wouldn’t net a lot of money, but money doesn’t always equal happiness as I’ve found out over my 35 years here on planet Earth.

Sometimes you have to stomp your way through things instead of around them to really get that point, but it’s life.  The adventure is the payoff, not the end.

At least I believe so.  Today’s tune has been a constant song in my life ever since I was a little boy.  There has to be a reason.  Sometimes you have to do what the song says.

Keep stomping on, folks!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in Nightlife, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

