Halloween Horror


In 2 days Americans will celebrate what we’ve loving accepted as the time for candy, tricks, and treats: Halloween.  There was merriment and celebration the weekend before, but due to an extended downpour this past Saturday night things were scaled down a bit.  I do expect the day of Halloween and this weekend to still see the spirit (pun intended) in it.

The flipside of that is something that I personally honor every year: All Souls Day.  This year it will fall ON Saturday, November 2nd.  This is the day that Catholics honor the dearly departed and deceased.  I have lost quite a few folks that I hold dear in my life, but will save that sorrow for another time because the prayers offered up are for a joyous reunion in the afterlife with them.

The balance of life and death is one that we unwittingly partake of every day that we wake up.  It’s the greatest game that no one ever thinks about with the largest number of participants ever.  There are more viewers in more countries and it has been on since Adam and Eve bore children.  There’s no sure fire way to win at the game of life, but each contestant (save one) exits the same.

However you approach it, celebrate each day.

I leave you with one of the most stirring tales on vinyl that I hold from my youth.  A young Michael Bell narrates the story of Halloween Horror.  Enjoy!

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

