Requiem From the Heart


Today is Halloween.  We celebrate the holiday by tricking or treating each other, wearing outfits, and pretending to be things we aspire or desire to be.  There is another side to the holiday which I mentioned on Tuesday that always hits me deeper in my soul as I have grown older.

I wrestled long into today before deciding to post this, but my heart said to do so.

All Souls Day is on Saturday and will be the day that I step in and pray for the souls of the departed whom I miss so dearly.  The pain of loss eases as the years roll by, but the pain itself never really goes away. 

I honor the following by a call of names:

My grandmother Gladys, my grandfather Granvil, Ms. Caldonia McNealy, Ms. Elfa Feathers, my grandmother Lessimae, my great aunt Geraldine, my aunt Jeannie, Ms. Terrio, my two brothers that I never got to meet, and my Uncle Ronnie.  These are the folks that are FAMILY to me.

Reggie Zeno (RIP Big Friendly), Isaac (my dance partner in crime), and the brother who used to work as a bouncer at Lizard Lounge that looked like Mark Henry.  These are the folks that were LIKE family to me.

And to all the folks who’ve I’ve encountered over my life that I slowly lost touch with or cannot drudge up in my memory who’ve left this mortal coil behind.  I’m sorry and I hope to rekindle those ties in the next life.

Instead of ending in sadness, I recall the lives of the folks I just named and revel in what they taught me.  I always post up music because I have a song in my heart for every person that I listed here.  Folks may cry that Disco is dead, but just like memories, it lives on forever (at least for me). Music serves to sooth the savage beast, but also to heal the hungry heart.

This is my requiem to them.

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

