It’s All About the Trip


3 years, 302 posts, and 1,256 pictures later I have arrived at the start of Year Four for this photoblog.

When I first started this, I was unsure of what direction to go with life and unsure about what to do with my talents.  I’m a people person, but you’d never guess that I’m a large introvert.  Getting behind the lens forced me to learn how to socialize and learn more about the world about me.  Learning how to use the medium (and this space) was the fight of the next year and a half.

Once I got a schedule going and a decent idea of how I wanted to marry my love of the arts, pop culture, records, collectibles, and people it all kinda came together.  I thought about trying to turn this into a full on viable business, but came to honest terms with the fact that I’m much more involved with my IT job than to give up everything to fight among the 1234567890 people with a camera (and now mobile phone cameras) who want to be photographers in Dallas.  I’ve crossed paths with prima donnas (with my peers) in that field and while I’m far from the best, I know that what I like to do is what I’d like to be able to continue liking to do.  Taking pictures is not a job for me (even though I freelance with Central Track), but rather a bit of therapy that benefits both the subject and myself.  I step out and capture life as it happens and actually make sure I enjoy the things I go to record.  If you don’t love what you do, then you really should question your dedication to whatever it is you are involved with.  That advice has not steered me wrong yet and allowed me to still work intermittently while increasing my ability with the craft.

My love of travel, family, and friends has taken me from the brilliant break of dawn in abandoned warehouses, to the breezy joys of the wind on the Central Texas plains, and left me awash in the delights of a Gulf Coast afternoon.  I’ve found myself as much at home in the bayous of Southeast Texas as I have in opulent mansions in Austin or posh clubs/afterhours in Uptown Dallas.  Side paths untraveled by many have shown the glory of a city that I see in an all new light.  The flipside of that last statement is that I also see the sadness in the day to day that many have learned to tune out.  Balance strikes its chords deep and heavy at times, but through it all I remain true to the subject.

And thus I renew my pledge to you, the reader.  Outside of when I make it absolutely known, I promise to keep things new and fresh and not give you the same old same old.  My lens, my music, and my mentality I share honest, freely, and make no apology for because it’s all from my heart. My labor of love to capture the times is my gift twice a week to you.  I hope that you continue to enjoy it as it continues on its constant, uncharted trip towards tomorrow.

Thanks for your eyes and ears for the past 3 years.  Here’s to Year Four!

Brian/Rufus

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Nightlife, Photography, Random In Dallas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

