Jump Street Shuffle


20131231-095945.jpg

2013 saw me go from unemployed to working full time (in more than one sense of the term). Lost a few fake friends along the way, but it’s better that they severed ties and saved us both the time and grief. I made some new connections romantically but learned again that the heart is the greatest deceiver we can ever know.

I went to the Super Bowl and traveled across the US this year more than ever before. My diligence in trying to get my name out there and continually be different has even already landed me new work in 2014. Truly, the hustle never sleeps (and I’ve sacrificed a lot this past year, lol).

The most shining moment for me was throwing my Mother a surprise birthday party. Working between 5 schedules, 2 states, and a very small timeframe my family and I were able to make absolute magic happen. Even typing this I’m kind of emotional.

The deepest lesson of 2013?

Let go and let God.

I’m a smart critter and lucky as well sometimes, but the chances I’ve been given, the joy that I do hold now, and the grief I’ve avoided (even when I think otherwise) could not be without Him.  Just like in today’s picture, you sometimes have to see through the vines and undergrowth to realize that the structure of things still remains.

2014 is ready to pounce (and so am I)!

Here’s to a new year of progress, joy, and HOPEFULLY unity.

See you in the New Year!

– Rufus

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

