Distant and Decayed – Remnants of a House


20140102-084038.jpg

A New Year and new predilections come to light.  On my drive back from Austin yesterday I found a home to the side that looked like an easy stunt double for anything out of a horror movie.  This place just screams Rob Zombie’s “House of 1000 Corpses.”  Funny enough that to boot I was listening to the Bush album with “Greedy Fly” on it. That immediately came to mind when I saw this building.

The low lingering light and eerie atmosphere definitely lent to the picture taking.  I almost took to going inside it, but what you’re NOT seeing is the number of hornet’s nests and raw metal left exposed in the yard. Decided to play it safe (for once) and mark it for future investigation (when I had the rest of my gear with me). Travel is happening and a lot this year from what I’ve got planned so far in 2014.

Seeing as how I have a bit of in state travel lined up already and more and more people seem to respond to my stills of rural treasure, I’ve decided to A) be more selective with my personal Instagram, B) open another one for my travel/nature shots, and C) possibly do the same for my abstractions.

Also, after tons of time, music, and concern, I’ve decided to take a break for a month to really hash out what I want this site to be/entail.  It has been nice to have a nice outlet to share with and from, but with more and more requests for prints and having slept on the opportunity to spark a small bit of business, I’ve recognized that it’s time to make those decisions.

Day Two of the New Year and I still feel just as strong as I did the year before.  The only resolution I had was to continue to show how to make life awkward, but in just being alive I think I accomplish that more than I could ever hope. The joy of it all is that every now and then someone gets and accepts the method to the madness. Those are the people that you keep close.

I find the beauty in almost everything because without it the world would be nothing but doom and gloom.  Even a dilapidated home was once a place of joy and light.  Not all things remain the same forever, but in that great mutability that time creates we find that beauty can be again.

Just look out for the greedy flies.

About rufusp2k8

I'm a local freelance photographer taking in life and musing on how things are and what they could be all through my lens. I add light and sound to further the vision each Tuesday and Thursday. I can be found on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ebonsoul-Photos/227797643952140 or e-mailed for work/events here: bigbgk@hotmail.com For other content by myself, check out: http://about.me/Brian_G_Knowles
Image | This entry was posted in From The Road, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

